Class Descriptions

Class Levels*

Level I

Class for beginners.  Fundamental principles, basic alignment, and yoga terminology are taught.

Level II

Building on principles learned in Level I with an introduction to intermediate poses.  Basic poses are also refined.

Level III

For the more experienced students.  Intermediate poses are refined and advanced poses are introduced.

Gentle Class

A moderately paced, less strenuous introduction to Iyengar Yoga. Props, such as chairs, blocks and straps are employed to assist the student in the yoga postures. Restorative poses, which are restful and rejuvenating, are also practiced.

*The leveling of classes is to give the student an idea of the types of poses that will be taught.  However, any skill level is welcome at any class as the teacher will modify poses or suggest alternate poses to adapt to a student’s skill level.

Special Classes

These 2 hour classes have a specific theme or topic, and are usually offered once per month as my schedule allows.   Check here for my current and past special classes.

Yoga Sutra Study

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali are 196 sutras or aphorisms that constitute the foundational text of Ashtanga Yoga. They were written by the sage Patanjali around 400 A.D.  In a Sutra Study class we will read and discuss 2-3 aphorisms.  The discussion is lively and has many applications to our yoga practice and daily lives. The classes are free of charge.